Got to Get You Into My Life

Paul’s “Got To Get You Into My Life” was recorded on numerous different sessions in April, May and June of 1966. It has the boys on their regular instruments plus George Martin on Organ- Eddie Thornton (from Georgie Fame and the Blue Flames) Ian Hammer, Les Condon on trumpets: Alan Branscombe and Peter Coe (from Georgie Fame and the Blue Flames) on Tenor Saxes

Geoff Emerick: It was during the Revolver session that I realized that I simply rely on textbook recording techniques in terms in terms of microphone positioning and placement. The Beatles were demanding more, so much more, of both me and of the technology. We didn’t know at the time, but we were making tremendous advancements in the recording process.

No one had ever heard brass the way I recorded it on “Got To Get you Into My Life”. I close miked the instruments- actually put the mics right down into the bells instead of the standard technique of placing them four feet away- and then applied severe limiting to the sound. There were only five players on the session, and when it came to mix the song, Paul kept saying, “I wish we could make the brass sound bigger.”

George Martin replied, “Well, there’s no way we’re bringing them back in for another session- we’ve got the album wrapped up and there’s no more budget for outside players anyway.

That’s when I came up with the idea of dubbing the horn track onto a fresh piece of two-track tape, then playing it back alongside the multi-track, but just slightly out of synch, which had the effect of doubling the horns. I loved Paul’s singing on that song too- he really let loose. At one point while Paul was recording the lead vocal, John actually burst out of the control room to shout encouragement-evidence of the camaraderie and teamwork that was so pervasive during the Revolver sessions.

Paul: Got To Get You Into My Life was one I wrote when I had first been introduced to pot. I’d been rather straight working-class lad but when we started to get into pot it seemed to me to be quite uplifting. It didn’t seem to have too many side-effects like alcohol or some other stuff like pills, which I pretty much kept off of. I kind of liked marijuana. I didn’t have a hard time with it and to me it was mind-expending, literally mind expanding.
So “Got To Get You Into My Life’ is really a song about that, it’s not to a person, it’s actually about pot. It’s saying, “I’m going to do this. This is not a bad idea.” So it’s actually an ode to pot, like someone else might write and ode to chocolate or a good clarinet. It wouldn’t be the first time in history someone’s done it, but in my case it was the first flush of pot. I haven’t really changed my opinion too much except, if anyone asks me for real advice, it would be to stay straight. That is actually the best way. But in a stressful world I would still say that pot was one of the best of the tranquillizing drugs; I have drunk and smoked pot and of the two I think pot is less harmful. People tend to fall asleep on it rather than go and commit murder, so it’s always seemed to me a rather benign one.

Don’t forget to check out the information on our Beatles Tribute Cruise

658

0 Responses to “Got to Get You Into My Life”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

